What a Holly Ghee-ky Christmas!

I was just reading the blog of another GAPS person.  She said that she’s noticed the bloggers who go on GAPS do not post very regularly.  I’m there….so totally there!!  LOL.

Christmas was pretty good, diet and all.  We jumped ahead enough to enjoy a roast duck for Christmas (still supposed to be eating everything boiled), and it was time to add egg yolk.  We made a pumpkin “pudding” thingy….my idea and mom made it in her typical, ahem, fashion.  LOL!!  Not to be mean but she goes way heavy on cinnamon…and it gives me a headache.  ANyway, I will be “revamping” the leftovers; oh noms!

I think I am becoming known on FB as a complete foodie.  I do keep posting my cravings and what I’m making.  Oh well, it’s fun and edumacational for all.  Christmas Eve eve I ventured to make Ghee….oh gosh it is sooooo good.  Reluctant Hippie Family had posted the GAPS oven-made ghee recipe, so this made life easy.  I advised double straining with a coffee filter and sieve, and if you truly want to avoid casein, don’t eat any opaque drops that may fall through!  It may have been a problem that I filtered the ghee while hot, and I know it was definitely a problem that the oven got turned down too soon.  And you don’t have to make it on a full moon.  Just have a piece of orgone in the room instead, LOL.  Inside joke for my dear friends.  It is important to make your own ghee, as storebought is often mold contaminated…  My friend already shared this on her blog today.  This is why GAPS diet insists up on homemade ghee.  You can make ghee on the oven or on the stove.  Make it on full or new moon and chant if you wish, but I don’t think it’s necessary.  Just don’t fight while you make it, LOL.  Relax, put on some nice music…it takes a little while to make but not too long.  Easier than getting a batch of saurkraut made, IMO.  Here is a link to the Stovetop method for the ghee purists.  I’ve used both methods…which one is easier and/or tastes better?  I can’t really say there is a difference, on either count!

We had a Geek Tree for Christmas.  It’s much better in real person…a barren tree, decorated with blue LEDs, glow tubes, bead ornaments, pens, hard disk fragments, microchips, floppy disks, CDs and Ethernet cable.  Oh, yes it is wonderfully geeky!!!  We were also creative in our gift giving this year.  We gave one white elephant to each member of the family out of what we already owned, which was genius.  And a thrill to go dig through your things…it’s nice to dig up good old memories so that you can share them again in the form of a gift!  We also each drew a name to give a “real” gift to on top.  My dad was really creative with this.  he had us pick a number and did some binary mumbo jumbo for us to get our presents.  My Lymie geek bro was hilariously “gamey” in his elephant gift giving… he gave us things we already own. Pssh, silly kid!!  he had hidden them in drawers since he didn’t want to bother with wrapping!!  I gave my other brother a Jesse Cook CD, and tried to have him “accidentally” almost throw it away.  My dad gave me boots that I had really wanted and his presentation, definitely was creative!!  A hidden object game for me to get the clue to find it – a delightful 40 minutes of real life Nancy Drew sleuthing!!  My mom had wrapped up Dad’s gift multiple times, since dad is always careful about unwrapping a gift. I don’t remember exactly what Geeky Lymie bro gave mom…terrible I know.  So anyway it was fun.  Oh an we did it all at 12:30 AM…yeah, 30 minutes after it had technically become Christmas.

ACT is going well.  I haven’t updated my symptoms to you.  Why?  I’ve hit the emotional turbulance that has locked this disease in my body.  I personally haven’t felt like revealing to the world what emotions did what.  I’ve felt quite introverted lately.  Look up emotion and symptom correlation with German New Medicine if you really have a bug about it.  I did and found it amazing!!  My symptoms are up and down.  Some days really are no good, and others are decent.  I haven’t had a week quite so physically grand as the week I posted my Top 10 Symptom list, but I have not completely fallen off the wagon either.  3 steps forward and 2 steps back is the name of the game, and I’m perfectly satisfied to play by those rules if it gets me to 100%.  I don’t know why people expect ACT to be magic.  It’s not.  We expect 3 steps forward and 2 steps back type in any chosen method of treatment…many of is are willing to fall 3 steps back before getting 2 steps forward!!  And yes, I said that right – then you do expect to switch to the normal 3 forward and 2 back pattern.  You IV antibiotic people know exactly what I mean.  Oh and, I feel the pressing need to just say this – I don’t work for ACT!  If you’ve heard that, it’s wrong and I can prove it.  If and when I do ever work for them….you will know it!  LOL.

There are lots of things going on in my life right now, and it is all good.  Some of it is not fun or easy to go through, and other parts are just wonderful…most of it is a blend of these two.  Family stuff, being a crazy foodie, wanting to stay in touch with non-Lyme friends, forging real true friendships with my own Lyme friend, monetary and economic reality, the reality of the pain and suffering that drug use causes a family (not mine…but helping out in the small way possible), small business plan and desire for a job….once settled into that I will get back into college, getting orgonized!, etc.

I am considering serious New Year Resolutions for the first time in my life as well.  How perfect!  It will be the beginning of a new decade.  I have felt free to even privately write my dreams for the year/decade.  Oh and Resolutions ar enot about doing the impossible…they are about setting simple acheivable goals.  I want to let you know…that one of them is an update to my blog 3 times a week, at least.  Perhaps the posts will be shorter…  Every day seems to have a theme on the “research”/reading/education end.  It will be wonderful to share what I’m learning, and I look forward to sharing it

Leave a Reply

